Mission Statement

Utilities Credit Union will strive to be the lending and savings institution of choice for Xcel Energy and its subsidiary employees, retirees and their families. Utilities Credit Union will:

  • Encourage prudent financial management by its members.
  • Offer competitive rates for savings accounts and consumer loans in order to help members improve their economic and social conditions.
  • Provide excellent service and careful management to ensure the safety and soundness of member transactions.
Utilities Credit Union History

Established in 1932, Utilities Credit Union (UCU), a not-for-profit financial institution serves the employees, their spouses, children, grandchildren and retirees of Xcel Energy. This makes UCU a select employee group (SEG) credit union, and classified as a closed, state chartered credit union. Current membership, about 1,000 members, represent assets of over $7 million.

Geographically, our service area spans from Hudson in the west, Ironwood Michigan to the north, Abbotsford to the east and Durand to the south. In addition, UCU’s family of members are scattered throughout the USA. As the pool of potential new members expands with Xcel Energy’s ever-expanding service area our geographic borders also continue to grow.


Utilities Credit Union is the 2nd oldest Credit Union in the Chippewa Valley Charter of the Wisconsin Credit Union League. Other affiliations include:

  • Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions – Office of Credit Unions
  • National Credit Union Administration – NCUA
  • Credit Union National Association – CUNA & Affiliates
  • Illinois Credit Union League – ICUL/LSC
Heidi Schultz President and Treasurer
Carol Lueke Office Manager
Ryan Amans Loan Officer/Teller
 Jill Lamoureux Loan Officer/Teller
Credit Committee Carol Lueke – Chairperson, Karen Everson, Andrew Akervik, Greg Axness, Diane Ressemann, Jason Doerr III
Examining Committee John Roffler- Chairperson, Jacob Gabrielson,
Sheryl Hoepner, Mida Bennett, Jeff Scholze, Jane Pecka
Board of Directors
John Ness Chairman
Lori Drilling Vice-Chairman
Rebecca McIlhargey Secretary
Heidi Schultz President and Treasurer
Scott Seaholm Director
Kelsey Rydzik Director
Tom Bachmeier Director
Kallie Robb Director
Paul Seipel Director
Karl Hoesly Director
Theresa Theisen Director